Award winners

Award winners

19.02.2013 - Three researchers – one from the UK and two from Germany – have been awarded the Louis-Jeantet prize for Medicine.

Michael Stratton, Chief of the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute in Hinxton, UK, and the two German biochemists Peter Hegemann, Berlin, and Georg Nagel, Würzburg (photo), will receive a prize money of CHF700,000. Stratton got the prize, of which CHF75,000 is for personal use, for his work aimed at understanding the genetic causes of human cancer. He discovered the roles of the BRCA2 and BRAF genes in breast and skin cancers. Hegemann and Nagel, who share the prize, pioneered the field of optogenetics, a technique to control gene expression by switching light on and off. Namely, they discovered ion channels that can be activated by light.

20.05.2013 Karolinska Development AB has proposed a dealmaker to chair its board. The tech transfer specialist nominated Bo Jesper Hansen to follow Hans Wigzell as Chairman of the Board at its annual meeting in mid-May.

Hansen has many years of experience in international contract negotiation, dealmaking and international marketing, as well as extensive knowledge of legislative conditions, pharmacosurveillance, medical marketing and business development. He is currently Chairman of the Board at SOBI and Executive Chairman of the Board at TopoTarget.

28.05.2013 German biosimilar specialist Formycon AG has named Dr. Carsten Brockmeyer as its new Chief Executive Officer and member of its executive board.

Brockmeyer began his industry career in 1991 at Baxter International, where he was responsible for the development and quality control of monoclonal antibodies. In 1998, he switched to HEXAL AG, where he oversaw the development of the first-ever biosimilar for epoetin alpha and for biosimilar filgrastim. A year later he became General Manager of HEXAL Biotech Forschung GmbH, which was absorbed by Sandoz Biopharmaceuticals in 2008. At Sandoz, Brockmeyer started as head of global project management. In recent years, he has advised clients through his own consulting company, Brockmeyer Biopharma. Formycons new CEO is the author of more than 100 scientific publications, and has been credited with a number of patented inventions. His acclaimed work in the field of biopharmaceuticals has been recognised by several scientific awards. 

03.06.2013 Bayer AG’s anti-infectives spin-out AiCuris GmbH and license partner Merck & Co. have been awarded the Allicense 2013 "Breakthrough Alliance Award” for their US$574m agreement in October 2012.

In the running were the five most valuable licensing agreements worldwide as nominated by analysts from Deloitte Recap. An online vote decided the winner. AiCuris CEO Prof. Dr. Helga Rübsamen-Schaeff was given the award at the end of April at the Allicense conference in San Francisco.

07.06.2013 US small molecule-drug conjugates specialist Endocyte has appointed Torsten Hoof as VP and General Manager of the company’s new European headquarters in Zug.

Hoof has extensive knowledge of product launches in the European market. The biochemist comes in from Bristol-Myers Squibb, where most recently he was VP for Global Commercialisation of the hema-tology and oncology franchise. Prior to joining BMS, he was Global Business Leader Influenza at Roche, where he led the worldwide launch of Tamiflu and several launches of HIV products in Germany.

11.06.2013 A Cancer antibody specialist BioInvent International AB (Lund) has named Michael Oredsson as its new President and CEO.

Oredsson, who will take up his post within the next six months, has  wide experience in the pharma, biotech and nutrition sectors. The current CEO of Probi AB began his carreer with Mars and Nestlé, and previously held executive positions at Bio-signal in Australia and Nutri-pharma in Norway. He was also responsible for building up Pharmacia’s OTC product division in Australia.

14.06.2013 Merck Millipore has granted the 2013 Alice C. Evans Award to Joan Steitz from Yale University.

Breaking new ground in research on RNA, especially in the function of small ribonucleoproteins (snRNPs) in pre-mRNA, Steitz was the first to learn that these cellular complexes (snRNPs) play a key role in processing messenger RNA by excising non-coding regions, and splicing together resulting segments.

18.06.2013 European Bioplastics elected François de Bie to chair the lobby organisation’s new board.

Members include Maria-Giovanna Vetere (NatureWorks), Jürgen Keck (BASF), Peter Brunk (Biotec), Rainer Schweda (Braskem), and Johnny Pallot (Roquette). De Bie, who will succeed the association's former Chairman, Andy Sweetman from Innovia Films, is currently marketing manager of Dutch PLA and succinic acid producer Purac, a subsidiary of CSM N.V. Previously, he worked with Sabic Innovative Plastics and GE Plastics.

28.06.2013 Swedish biochemist Pål Nyrén has been awarded the European Patent Office’s (EPO) “Inventor of the Year“ for his development of the DNA pyrosequencing technique used in Roche’s and Qiagen’s next generation sequencing machines.

Nyrén is one of five winners of the 2013 European Inventor Award, from a group of 15 total nominees from 11 countries. The winners were announced in the presence of Princess Beatrix of the Netherlands and 500 invited guests from all over the world, including scientists, intellectual property experts, business leaders and political representatives. Nyrén is currently professor in Biochemistry at KTH in Stockholm. He founded Biotage in 1997, the former Pyrosequencing AB.

02.07.2013 Rob Duchateau, private lecturer at the University of Eindhoven (Netherlands) and academic head of SABICO, has received this year’s DPI Award.

At the end of June, the Dutch Polymer Institute Invention Award has been handed at the biennial conference of the European Polymer Federation (EPF) in Pisa, Italy. The Jury underlined Duchateau’s merits in the field of polymer applications and properties as an outstanding example for connection of academic knowledge with industrial application. In order to promote the significance of inventions, the DPI Invention Award is presented every two years to a scientist from the DPI network. The number of inventions and the industrial relevance are the most important criteria for granting. 

09.07.2013 Orexo AB has named Henrik Juuel as new Executive Vice President and CFO. According to the company, Juuel brings in extensive experience from senior managements positions within the life science industry, including positions as CFO for NNE Pharmaplan and GN Resound.

“His experience from financial management of international commercial operations will be important for the success of Orexo AB, as our company continues expanding,” says Nikolaj Sørensen, President and CEO of Orexo. Henrik Juuel succeeds Carl-Johan Blomberg, who will leave Orexo after successful two-year tenure.

Vorherige Seite4/8Nächste Seite


Current issue

All issues

Product of the week


Stock list

All quotes


  • RENEURON (UK)2.88 GBP4.73%
  • SUMMIT (UK)4.03 GBP3.87%


  • VITA 34 (D)4.14 EUR-7.17%
  • ADOCIA (F)53.20 EUR-5.67%


  • DIAMYD MEDICAL -B- (S)6.90 SEK47.1%
  • KARO BIO (S)42.00 SEK34.6%


  • BIONOR PHARMA (N)0.44 NOK-25.4%
  • E-THERAPEUTICS (UK)11.50 GBP-14.8%
  • ZEALAND PHARMA (DK)112.00 DKK-14.5%


  • NICOX (F)10.07 EUR430.0%
  • SAREUM HOLDINGS (UK)0.76 GBP245.5%
  • GENMAB (DK)1094.00 DKK85.0%


  • BB BIOTECH (D)44.29 EUR-83.1%
  • EVOCUTIS (UK)0.04 GBP-77.8%

No liability assumed, Date: 27.08.2016


All Events